Goodbyes

Tomorrow brings the end to my life in India.
There’s this pervading sense of unfairness when it comes to goodbyes. Why are they so tough? Why are we designed to hurt so much when they happen? Why do they happen so frequently?
There was this man who died in an Italian restaurant after being bit by a poisonous spider. He didn’t get a chance to say his difficult goodbyes or to contemplate his death.
When I say goodbye to India today, I’m going to feel bad and ask “why me and why now?” or “can’t I have a little while longer?”. That’s how we see our lives, we assume we deserve long stretches of times and people to develop relationships with. The truth is we really don’t and I’m just lucky I have both.
So yes, goodbyes are tough, but I am grateful I get the time to say them.

 

Leave a comment